Pickin’ Pecans

The other day, I went to play golf with my Nana (don’t laugh!) and to my surprise, the golf course had an abundance of pecan trees! While, I’m not the best at golf, I did discover that I am a very good pecan-picker! Here is the bounty I brought home (don’t worry, the golf course encourages people to pick them, it saves them from having to clear them off of the green. I’m not a pecan bandit… although that does sound pretty cool.)

I’m not so good at cracking them open with out turning the pecans inside to rubble, but hey… I have a lot to practice on!

Pecans are great to add to tons of recipes, especially this time of year. Their sweet, nutty crunch goes so well with winter squash and other vegetables of the fall season. They are amazing in stuffing and pilafs, and pretty much anything with dried fruit. I love them in salads, or just for snacking! Not only all of that, but they are loaded with vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, fiber, protein, and heart-healthy fats. Studies also show that eating pecans can help protect your nervous system from diseases like Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

Here are some great healthy recipes that feature this nutritious nut:

Question: How do you like your pecans? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “Pickin’ Pecans

    • I know! I was in heaven. I have so many I almost don’t know what to do with them… (almost being the operative word there!) I better get crackin’! I really want to try your pecan date bars… I am always looking for baking recipes that don’t used refined sugar. Also, pecans and dates happen to be two of my favorite things :)

Leave a Reply

